Handmade in St. Croix

I just got back from my 2nd annual trip to St. Croix.  It is the perfect vacation spot because they do not have a large tourist population, the drinks are fabulous, and all I did was scuba dive and read on the beach!  I was looking for a break from work and inspiration for my own life, and I knew just where to find it.

As soon as I could I went to visit Mitchell Larson Studio in Christiansted.  Jan Mitchell has developed several new techniques in the art of fusing glass and each piece is more and more inspirational.  It is my absolute dream to have a studio/shop like this.  When you walk in you can smell the kilns upstairs where Jan works, and the glass is displayed in the main room.  Her husband Steffen Larson displays his photography in another room of the studio.  The combination is breathtaking.  It is a true inspiration to any artist that steps foot in there.

Jan Mitchell Glass

Jan Mitchell Glass

Steffen Larsen Photography

Steffen Larsen Photography

1 Comment

Filed under Fabulous Artists and Products

One response to “Handmade in St. Croix

  1. Joy

    Beautiful plate and photo! My husband and I go to Jan’s at least 3 times a year. I collect her plates and the cute little Christmas Ornaments. We do a St. Croix Christmas Tree every year.
    There are so many quaint shops in Christiansted and have purchased beautiful hand made jewelry.
    We love St. Croix…..already have our next trip planned for May. We just can not stay away….we feel so at home on the Island! Joy

Leave a Reply

